Excerpt ~ For You, Anything, a billionaire romcom

Book friends! How about an excerpt of For You, Anything, a billionaire, steamy romcom?

PREORDER HERE

~~~~~

Her phone buzzed for the fourth time. She was ignoring someone. “Someone wants you,” he said into her mouth.

“It’s just Ayana.”

At the sound of her sister’s name, he pulled back. “She checks up on you a lot.”

“Constantly.” She fidgeted a little. “My sister thinks you just want in my pants.”

He did, though had shown restraint worthy of the Pope. He knew once he went there, it would mean something. He wasn’t ready for meaning. “Ah, But then you just want me for my kitchen.”

“Truth.”

He peered up at her place through the windshield. “Is that why I’ve never gotten past the front door? Because Ayana was home before?” His discipline really slipped around this woman.

“Yes. Is that bad?”

He grinned over at her. “Wise. Though, here I thought I was one of her favorite people.”

She grabbed his hand. “Oh, you are. It’s just she’s really protective of me. And…”

“I get it.” He didn’t really, not ever having that himself. But it worried him that she’d clearly been worried being with him would piss off her family. Which surprised the hell out of him. He rather like pissing off family members. Just his own. Not hers. “Well, tomorrow then? I know a great little bistro.”

“Knox. If I did ask you up, would you?” Her voice was so tentative, he felt like a heel. She thought he didn’t want her? After the mouth gymnastics they’d engaged in?

Still, for once, he felt like he had a bead on a woman—this one.

Rayen had confidence in her cooking but little else. She even talked about Washington not really being her place a few times, which did strange things to his heart rhythm. Then, how Ayana was constantly questioning her about her business, her decisions. It irritated.

But what did he know about family? “I wouldn’t want to upset your sister.” Or himself. He’d drawn a good boundary between them. Kissing. Hand holding. No more.

“She’s out of town. So…” She smiled seductively. “Want to come up?”

Having Rayen look at him like she wanted him was mesmerizing. Worse, it threatened to rearrange his decision about keeping her at arms’ length.

“It’s okay. I understand.” She said quickly and cracked open her door. She was hurt. She might as well as punched him. He was used to disappointing women. God knew, why most of the time. But with Rayen, her fragility was so evident, it made him stop her.

He grasped her arm. “I don’t think you do.”

She closed her door again. “You think you’re going to hurt me. You’re not. I’m a grown woman. No one seems to get that around here.” She let her head fall back on the headrest.

He reached over, put his mouth on hers. More he just needed that connection to her. Let her see and feel how much of a woman he believed her to be.

When he broke the kiss, she blinked at him. So many questions filled her eyes, and he wanted all the answers to be “yes” for her.

Truth was, by now, an interest this strong in a woman would have had her nude, under him, long ago. Why was he holding himself back?

“Knox.” Her voice had a plea in it—something he felt straight down to his groin.

His resolve crumbled to dust. “Let’s go up.”

~~~~~

PREORDER HERE

Who wants to read an excerpt?

I’m not gonna lie. It was so hard to find an excerpt where the Internet gods might not banish me forever.

Finally, His
Excerpt

His strides ate up the expensive Oriental carpeting. When he was a mere twelve inches from her, her neck craned to look up into his face. Now, so close to his glittering eyes, every nerve in her body lit up like the sun. Her heart thundered against her ribs, and her teeth grabbed her bottom lip—probably more to have something to do rather than chatter.

“Hello.” His voice matched his eyes—deep and assured.

With a small wink, Charlotte scooted away, and the room constricted, narrowing down to him as if all the people around them had been pushed away by invisible hands.

“Hi. I’m …” Why was she having such trouble forming words? As a foreign language translator, she was usually much quicker with them—in four languages.

“Colette. Yes, I know.”

Of course, he knew. Everyone in the room likely had a dossier on her already—something with big letters that said, “Look, but don’t touch.”

Alexander’s club application was akin to filling out a college application—and one that only allowed her entry to tonight’s introduction party. Nothing beyond. Apparently, to join the club officially, one must have a background check worthy of the CIA.

The masked man held out a hand, which she took.

Warm flesh engulfed her hand. “Enjoying yourself?”

She nodded. Enjoying wasn’t the word she’d use, but it’d do.

“Anything in particular catch your eye?” His hand kept possession of hers.

Okay, small talk was underrated anyway. “I’m not sure yet. But nothing I’ve seen has me running for the hills—yet.” She tried to sound light, flirty. Instead, her voice came out thin and little more than a squeak.

“I’m glad to hear it.” He studied her face. “You look beautiful tonight, Colette. But then, you always did.” He flipped her hand over and pressed a small card into her palm. “Think about it.”

He then released his handhold and strode away.

Wait a minute. Always did? She glanced down at the little card he’d given her. It read:  Griffin Miles Storm.

Her brain froze along with every part of her body. He couldn’t be.

On the back, he’d written a note in large-scrolled handwriting. My office. Thursday. 12 noon.

No address. But he didn’t need to give one, did he? She knew exactly where his office was. Knew who he was.

Holy. Shit. She glanced around, her eyes searching for him, a man she hadn’t believed she’d ever see again.

~~~~~

Keep reading!

 Finally, His: A collection of Elite Doms of Washington novelettes

Finally, His
Exploring her darker longings was the deal. Falling for him—fast and hard—wasn’t.For years Colette harbored secret desires—ones that were forbidden and dangerous. When a man resurfaces from her past, he offers a chance to explore her darker imaginings. She didn’t expect to fall for him—hard, fast and irrevocably.

The Portrait
Being loved by someone was supposed to be simple, natural. But what if that someone is desired by everyone?For years Eric secretly loved Alexander from afar. Everyone else did, too. But Eric got lucky. Love bloomed between them—and a third, Rebecca. But old insecurities continue to rise, threatening it all.

When Darkness Calls
Even perfect love can’t conquer some nightmares—or so she believed.
Charlotte’s past is ugly by no fault of her own. Her Master will do anything to finally rid her of her hideous memories, and when he finally calls on their Club Accendos family she must make a choice: Confront the worst of them or possibly lose him forever.

Readers who love E. L. James, Shayla Black, and Joey W. Hill books will enjoy Finally, His.

A Thanksgiving Letter – From Scarlett

Scarlett  (From It Was All The Daisy’s Fault) took over! You see, Greta owner of Peppermint Sweet, left her in charge over the holidays. She believed Cole “settled” her a bit. Oh, ye, of so much faith! Scarlett will always be herself no matter what, and I believe this Thanksgiving Day letter proves she cannot be tamed.

Hi Peppermint Sweeties,
Happy Thanksgiving! It’s me, Scarlett. The woman who makes all your dreams come true, i.e. spins magic via an espresso machine.

Greta and I would like to thank you for your loyalty and patronage over the last few years. We’ve had a blast sating your sugar cravings and caffeine needs at our little bake and coffee shop—and that’s all thanks to you.

Also a big thank you to all who voted for Peppermint Sweet in the Moorsville Best Of list put out by the town’s City Paper. We would like to congratulate Starbucks, which came in first. Truly. They keep us on our toes. I mean, they don’t have a bistro table in a floor-to-ceiling, front window whose chairs have heart-scrolled backs–and which have seen a dozen marriage proposals over the years. They also don’t have Chloe’s magic pies. Or, my cake decorating skills. But we don’t mind them winning. Really.

Now. On to Peppermint Sweet’s holiday menu! You have parties to plan, catering to order, and wishes to make (remember Chloe’s magic pies).

Chloe’s pie menu has been up for six hours and you all scare me at how sugar-addicted you are. She does have a limit, however, so click here to order. Like, today. Seriously.

After all, you heard about Phoebe and Henry, right? I am not going through what happened between those two lovebirds who fought over the last fruitcake last season. It’s how they met but fighting over a dessert is just sad even if ours will turn your ideas about fruitcake around.

(Waving to Phoebe and Henry who got married last month. We catered. Yes, fruitcake was on the menu.)

Anyway, don’t be them. A wedding coming out of such a confrontation is not guaranteed. Even if you consume an entire cherry love pie made by Chloe.

Instead, be you.

Order on time.

Then get in here because I will sell anything that isn’t picked up and I hate it when you get all sad and we’ll end up back in the kitchen baking together because no way will I let you walk away empty-handed.

(Kudos to Mrs. Stevens who at least brought wine to our late night bake-a-thon when we ran out of the red velvet cupcakes she had to have for an eventSome of them even got frosted before I passed out.)

PLACE HOLIDAY ORDERS HERE. In advance. Really.

Love and Kisses,
Greta, Scarlett, and Chloe

Ways to Read for Free

And still support your favorite authors!

I’ve been seeing a number of conversations around free books lately — or about returning them after they’ve been read. I’m not here to get into any controversy whatsoever. I would, however, like to share some ways you can read for free and still support your favorite authors.

1. Check out books from the Library. If you don’t want to visit one or read a physical book, dd you know there is an ebook and audiobook library app called Libby? Here’s a short video on how to use it!

2. Join ARC teams. Arc teams are a huge win for both author and reader! You get a book (before anyone else) in exchange for an honest review on a retailer site. You should feel free to reach out to your favorite authors at any time to see if there open spots on their teams. Click here if you’d like to join mine.

3. Sign up for Bookbub. If you’re not already getting daily Bookbub emails (or visiting their site), you may want to consider it. Many (MANY) books offered are free, including both best sellers and under-the-radar books.

4. Subscribe to my newsletter for my free serial stories. I also sometimes feature “free week” which means I’ll highlight a free book a day for a while week!

5. Subscribe to Kindle Unlimited or Kobo Plus. Okay, technically, this one isn’t free-free. But for $9.99 a month ($9.99 CAD for Kobo) you can read as many books as your can from their “libraries.” Authors are paid by number of pages read.